Showing up.

I believe it is Woody Allen (handsome man), who is credited with the quote, “90% of life is showing up.”   I think what makes it so great is how simple a truth it is.   There’s no magic in showing up, but that’s the first step in anything, magic or not.

I bring it up because it has been on my mind in a few ways:

1. Showing up is really important in our community.   It’s so simple, I’m surprised how hard it is to explain to someone who doesn’t see it implicitly.   It’s common for people to show up at a church, spend a few weeks there, and move on saying, “I didn’t find community”.   But I don’t know that we can ever find community – we make it.   Which leads me to point 2.

2. I feel guilty about it, but I think I am coasting in the community currently.   I’m showing up to community, but I’m not actively making community the way I am capable of.   I’ve been tired.   I’ve got too much to do yesterday.   The garden isn’t what it should be, and that’s a tangible example of what effort I am putting in to everything else.   Thankfully, others are stepping up pretty dramatically.   But, I still feel guilty.

3. In my relationship with God, I haven’t shown up in a while.   I miss Him, but I let how tired I am and how many demands are on me be excuses to continue my absence.

First step would be showing up, next step would be making it.   Any relationship I care about deserves those two pieces.

Leave a comment